h1

“To crusade for justice, to seek the truth and defend it always.”

31/12/2010

When I set out to measure 2010 by the Delta Zeta Creed (starting here, more than two weeks ago), I didn’t realize what a feat it would be. It wasn’t just the rush and fuss of the holidays, or of adjusting to my new full-time schedule at work; it was also taking a hard look at each part of the Creed and how, if at all, it applies to the last year. Now I find myself in the last morning of 2010, with only a few hours left to pull my thoughts together. It may be rough, but it is what it is.

“To crusade for justice…”

According to Merriam-Webster, to “crusade” is “to take part in a major effort to change something.” Twenty-ten has offered many opportunities to be a part of something bigger than myself. I’ve signed some petitions and posted some stories about the many things going on in our country and the world that need to be made right — passing the DREAM Act, repealing “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” and Proposition 8 — but at the end of the day I don’t think of myself as a crusader so much as one person making a small contribution in, let’s face it, a rather passive way. If I was one for resolutions, I would resolve to earn the title of “crusader”, if only for one cause, in 2011.

I want to turn the spotlight onto three people I know (among many) who truly embody the traits of a crusader, and whose efforts are an inspiration to me:

  • Amy is working with BLOC Ministries in Cincinnati to help rehabilitate a home on McPherson Street, the site of several abandoned properties, in an effort to restore hope and beauty to the surrounding community. She and her partner Chris blog about the progress at Abandoned Space to Sacred Place, right here on WordPress.
  • Josh has worked with Covenant House since 2008, volunteering in Atlantic City and Detroit to work with homeless and disadvantaged youth. Listening to him tell stories about interacting with the “Cov” kids and the Faith Communities of like-minded volunteers is always heartwarming and heartbreaking at the same time; he gets a light in his eyes when he tells stories about talent shows and kids who are finally in an environment where they can thrive.
  • Katie is simply too awesome to summarize in a short paragraph. She has rowed across the Atlantic Ocean to raise $100,000 for the Blue Planet Run (now Blue Planet Network) Foundation, which she has designated to providing safe drinking water in Haiti, Nicaragua, Guatemala, India, and Uganda, as well as other places throughout the world where safe drinking water isn’t readily available. She has also biked across the United States in the Big Ride Across America and has participated in several other strength and endurance challenges to raise money for worthy causes (including the American Lung Association and Oxfam). I strongly encourage everyone to follow Katie’s adventures at Row for Water.

These are a few of the amazing people I’m fortunate to call friends and acquaintances, people who consistently work to better the world around them by using their strengths and never giving up the fight.

“…to seek the truth and defend it always…”

This is an area with which I’m far more familiar. Whether it’s an issue of national importance or something in my personal life, I’ve done my best this year to find and share the truth — even if the consequences aren’t pretty. The truth sometimes causes more problems at the time than would a well-placed lie, but to my mind any relationship that falls apart because of the truth is in just as much danger from the lie. The truth always comes out.

So in the next year, as in this year, I will continue to seek the truth in all its gritty truthiness (note to self: really must get Colbert’s mailing address for these royalties piling up…) and to stand by it even if I’m standing alone.

Next: “To those who my life may touch in slight measure…”

Leave a Reply

