h1

Post-A-Day 2011: Why did you start?

13/01/2011

Apologies in advance for the short post — in-law visit plus poor timing on my part equals an exhausted blogger.

I write because I’ve always been a writer. To my very core, I have to express myself, and my ego demands that I seek a public audience. I have things to say, dammit, and I didn’t spend my senior year in AP English developing my own style just to squander it in the pages of my private diary! But seriously… it takes a certain amount of self-confidence to expose yourself to the court of public opinion and to stand up (well, sit in front of a computer screen) and share what can sometimes be deep or controversial perspectives. You make yourself vulnerable not only to those whose opinions differ, but also to the occasional troll or other antagonist. That, of course, is never pleasant.

I started blogging in the beginning because I was still learning how to really interact with the internet. Of course I had access in middle school and high school, but I didn’t become a hard-core pleasure user until almost before I graduated. I bought my first laptop in 2005 and connected to whatever wireless network I could find, which was right about the time I decided that having a Web journal could be fun. Since then, I’ve gone from talking about my personal life and how I was feeling to covering social and political issues I consider to be important. I’ve been trying to narrow my focus in the last couple of months, or at least to keep things easier to navigate, but I think that this blog will always be a combination of my professional and personal interests.

I started blogging because it’s today’s natural progression of a writer’s development…and that, of course, is why I’ll continue.

Enhanced by Zemanta
One comment

  1. […] Post-A-Day 2011: Why did you start? (shanshantastic.wordpress.com) […]



Leave a Reply

